I realize that I gave you all a teaser prior to the opening of Secco, but haven’t followed up with a review or given you any substantial information about the place. For the sake of full disclosure, I’ve been there a few times since I wrote that piece. Mea culpa.

I recently visited Secco to meet up with fellow beer blogger and scholarly gentleman Tom Cizauskas. We’ll call it a “collaborative research effort.”

Not to sound like a fanboy, but I’ll just clear the air now – I wholeheartedly recommend this place. So if that’s all you need to know, you can stop reading.

However, I’ll use this section to gush about it for those still interested. Secco is a wine bar that focuses on light dishes and also has quite the beer selection. It’s not a gigantic list, mind you, but it’s packed with solid choices. From Gale’s Prize Old Ale in bottles to Brasserie des Franches-Montagnes Douze on tap, these cats know what they’re doing and they know how to please the beer crowd.

But stray a little bit and you’ll find that the food offerings and wine menu are equally worthy of praise. Over a light meal and beer session with Tom and friends, I discovered a combination that’s heavenly and unholy at the same time:  fried Castelvetrano olives stuffed with cheese. Insanely good, especially for an olive and cheese freak such as myself.

Thus far, it appears that they’re intent on keeping a rotating lineup of draft beers, bringing new and exciting things for the beer lovers. And if they manage to keep doing what they’re doing by offering great food (including an incredible cheese menu), beer, and wine in a relaxed atmosphere, they should be just fine.

But back to the evening at hand. As the hours passed, we discussed all manner of topics; cask beer, linguistics, what happens when you fill a baby carriage with bread crumbs down at the harbor and scream “The birds ate my baby!”

It was an educational evening, and from what I hear from my Northern Virginia counterpart, there are a lot of good things in store for the folks up there when it comes to beer. But down here in the River City, we’re happy to have our growing beer scene graced with Secco’s presence.

